HD Pro Duplicator - Main Copy Menu - Erase - Disk Wipe
Disk Wipe deletes all information on any connected Target drives by writing zeros into each sector of the hard drive, sector by sector. The Wipe permanently removes data, making it almost impossible to recover.
The Disk Wipe is a four-step process.
- The duplicator writes 1’s to all sectors on the disk
- The duplicator writes 0’s to all sectors on the disk
- The duplicator writes a random pattern of 1’s and 0’s to all sectors on the disk
- All sectors are verified
The multi-pass process ensures that any old data is virtually unrecoverable. By default, the Disk Wipe operation will execute the four-pass method once. The Disk Wipe can be executed repeatedly on the same disk for additional security. To increase the number of times the Disk Wipe runs, refer to Set HDD Wipe.
To perform a Disk Wipe:
- Power on the duplicator.
- Connect drives to the Target ports on the duplicator.
- From the Main Copy Menu press the Up or Down buttons until you see Disk Wipe.
- When Disk Wipe is displaying for you, press the ENT button to start this process.

Note: The Source port is not able to be erased unless you enable Erase Source Port located under Main Setup.
